ICC tournament will resume in Pakistan, Champions Trophy to be played in 2025


  • Big ICC tournament to return to Pakistan after more than two decades
  • USA and West Indies have been selected as the joint hosts for the 2024 T20 World Cup
  • India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will jointly host the 2031 ODI World Cup.

After more than two decades, this big ICC tournament will be the return of Pakistan in Pakistan. Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy in 2025. The Board of the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday decided to hand over the hosting of the 2025 Champions Trophy to Pakistan. The United States of America and West Indies have been chosen as the joint hosts for the 2024 T20 World Cup. It will be the first major global event in North America.

As per the ICC announcement, India will host three ICC tournaments in the next cycle. These include 2026 T20 World Cup and 2031 ODI World Cup. India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will jointly host the 2031 ODI World Cup. India will also host the Champions Trophy in 2029.

Pakistan last hosted the World Cup in 1996
Pakistan last hosted the 1996 World Cup. However, the 1996 World Cup was hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. No major international tournament has been played in Pakistan since the terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore in 2009. All teams refused to play in Pakistan due to security reasons.

Recently, the teams of New Zealand and England postponed their tour of Pakistan. The New Zealand team also went to Pakistan and refused to play a few hours before the first match. Later the England team also refused to go to Pakistan. In such a situation, it has to be seen which teams will choose to go to Pakistan or not.

The Champions Trophy is back in the ICC calendar after eight years. The last time the Champions Trophy was played in the UK was in 2017. The ICC has said that 14 members of the ICC will host the ICC Men’s Event from 2023 to 2031. USA and Namibia will host the ICC World Cup for the first time.

The hosts were selected through a bidding process. The hosts were selected by a board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snead. The committee also included Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt. A similar process will now be followed for the selection of hosts for the women’s ICC event beginning next year.

Related Articles

Back to top button