Rohit-Rahul pair shine, India’s series win with victory in second T20 match


  • Brilliant victory for India in the second T20 match as well
  • The pair of Rohit and Rahul did wonders
  • India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets

After a poor performance in the World Cup, the Indian team looks quite different in the home T20 series. In the second T20 match being played in Ranchi, the Indian team won the second consecutive match against New Zealand by 7 wickets. The pair of captain Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, who were the heroes of the match, gave India a spectacular victory. With a win in the second consecutive match, India have taken a 2-0 lead in the three-match T20I series and India’s focus will now be on a clean sweep.

In the second T20I series, India won the toss and decided to bowl first. Batting first, New Zealand scored 153 for six at the end of 20 overs. Whereas Harshal Patel was 2 wickets fast for India. Chasing the target of 153 runs, the pair of Rohit and Rahul gave the Indian team a great start. And in the end, Rishabh Pant gave a spectacular victory by hitting two consecutive sixes. India registered a 7-wicket win against New Zealand at 155 for 3 at the end of 17.2 overs.

India’s innings:

KL Rahul and captain Rohit Sharma made a great start for India. KL Rahul scored 65 runs in 49 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes, while captain Rohit Sharma scored 55 runs in 36 balls with 1 four and 5 sixes. Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul put on 117 runs for the first wicket. However, in this match, Suryakumar Yadav got out for 1 run. So Rishabh Pant gave India victory by hitting two sixes in two consecutive balls. Venkatesh Iyer and Rishabh Pant remained unbeaten on 12-12. New Zealand’s captain team Saudi took three quick wickets.

New Zealand innings:

New Zealand’s opening pair Martin Guptill and Darrell Mitchell lost the toss and elected to bat and got off to a good start. Guptill scored 31 runs in 15 balls with the help of 3 fours and 2 sixes, while Mitchell scored 31 runs in 28 balls with the help of 3 fours. Chapman later played an innings of 21 runs. So Glenn Phillips scored 34 runs in 21 balls with the help of 1 four and 3 sixes. Seifert was later dismissed for 13, while Nisham, who had an explosive World Cup performance, was dismissed for 3. At the end of 20 overs, New Zealand scored 153 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. Harshal Patel took 2 wickets for India.

Indian Team: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, R.K. Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel.

New Zealand Team: Martin Guptill, Darrell Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee (c), Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

Related Articles

Back to top button