South Africa fails despite four wins; England and Australia in the semifinals


  • England finished first in Group One
  • South Africa defeated England in the final
  • England worried about Jason Roy’s injury

Dubai: South Africa missed the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup. Despite winning the last Super 12 game against England, South Africa fell behind in run rate. England and Australia reached the semi-finals from Group 1. All three teams were tied, but England finished first and Australia second.

The South African batsmen, who were sent off because of the lost throw, showed an outstanding performance. The team only lost 2 wickets and scored 189 runs. Rossi van der Dasson (94 of 60 balls), D’Coque (34 of 27 balls) and Markra (52 of 25 balls with two fours and four sixes) were the main responsible for the South African innings. Adil Rashid and Moin Ali each took a wicket for England.

In response, England started well but failed to claim victory in the final overs. Presented by openers Jason Roy and Jose Butler. In the fifth round, however, Jason Roy was excluded due to injury. Jose Butler (26 of 15 balls) and Moin Ali (37 of 27 balls) were the outstanding actors for England.

The other goal scorers were David Malan (33), Liam Livingstone (28) and Eoin Morgan (17). England finished the innings at 179 while South Africa won by 10 runs. Kagiso Rabada took three wickets for South Africa. Pretorius and Shamsi each took two wickets.

Related Articles

Back to top button