The big decision of Turkey; Measures against the ambassadors of the USA, France and Germany

Istanbul: In other countries, including Turkey and the US, tensions are likely to mount. Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has instructed the ambassadors of ten countries, including the United States, France and Germany, to leave the country. The Turkish government has declared the ambassadors to be unacceptable. The ambassadors had called for the release of a social worker imprisoned in Turkey.

A few days ago in Ankara, ambassadors from 10 countries, including the USA, France and Germany, made a statement. The businessman Usman Kavala has been in jail since 2017 without charge. President Erdogan called the statements “impolite” and declared the ambassadors to be persona non grata.

Erdogan said at a rally in the western city of Essex that he had instructed the foreign ministers to take “serious” action against the ambassadors of the ten countries. These people (ambassadors) should know Turkey first. Erdogan also said that if Turkey doesn’t want to know, it should leave the country.

Turkey’s ambassadors include the United States, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Canada, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway and New Zealand. All of these ambassadors were convened by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Kawala, 64, was acquitted in 2012 of participating in a nationwide anti-government agitation in 2013. However, the order was later changed and he was charged in 2016 with attempting to overthrow the government.

Related Articles

Back to top button